Blocking them will work differently depending on what type of phone you have. Check out our articles on how to block a number on Apple and Android devices. If you’re not able to block numbers directly on your phone, try using a third-party number-blocking app like Mr. Number instead. [2] X Research source

If you’re worried ignoring their texts will make you seem rude, come up with an excuse. We’ve all lost our phones more than we’d like to admit. Pretend you lost your phone the days they were texting you and that’s why you couldn’t respond. Using a specific ringtone helps you know when to ignore a text. In your phone’s settings or the individual’s contact, you can set a special ringtone for whenever they text you. When you hear the ringtone, you can decide if you want to answer the text or ignore it. [4] X Research source

“Hey, I really can’t text right now because I’m super busy and can’t be distracted, but I’ll hit you up later!” “Silencing my phone for a bit because I really need to focus, I’ll call you later. ”

“You know my family is really protective, and they’re starting to get angry that you’re texting me. ” “I want to talk, but my phone is running out of data and I don’t have the storage. I’ll reach out when I can!” “My boss asked me not to be on my phone at work again. I’ll text you back when I’m off. My schedule has been all over the place lately. ”

“SMS: SERVICE ERROR 305: Message delivery failed. Further messages will be charged to your account. ”[8] X Research source If they respond, either keep replying with the fake error message or ignore them.

When a pushy admirer won’t stop texting you: “I’m flattered that you want to text me every day, but please stop as I don’t have time for a relationship right now” or “STOP CONTACTING ME. ” When a friend won’t stop texting you: “I like talking to you, but you’re texting me a bit too much” or “I’m really busy right now and don’t have time to answer your texts, so please stop texting me every day. ” When a family member won’t stop texting you: “I need to ask you to stop texting me so much. I have a lot going on, and all the texts are overwhelming” or “Please stop texting me. I will contact you when I have time. ” When an adamant ex won’t stop texting you: “I need to have my own space right now, so please stop texting me” or “You’ve been reaching out a lot and it’s confusing me. Please respect my boundaries and stop texting me. ”

For a step-by-step guide on how to change your phone number if you use Verizon, Sprint, AT&T, or T-Mobile, check out our article How to Change Your Number.

When you file a report, an investigation will start. The police will investigate if the texter has committed crimes of harassment, abuse, or stalking. [13] X Research source Document the harassment by taking screenshots of the text messages. Filing a report is a great first step, and having evidence to back it up is even better. Save everything—even what you think won’t be important. One text message could mean the difference between your harasser getting away with the abuse and being lawfully punished. Protection orders can restrict and stop communication from a harasser. After filing a protection order, the harasser won’t be able to contact you without facing criminal charges. [14] X Research source