If you follow each other already, that’s a great sign. They’ll probably be much more open to responding to your messages.

For example, if they post a pic of their lunch, you could say, “Yum! Where’d you get that?” If they post a picture at the beach, you might ask, “Looks beautiful! Which beach is that?” If they post a song they’re listening to, you could say, “I love this song. Have you heard their most recent album?”

Say something like, “LOL you’re so funny, your posts always make me laugh. ” Or, “It’s awesome how much you volunteer! Everyone should give back to the community like you do. ”

“Those shoes you just posted are so pretty! Where’d you get them?” “Just saw your post about the basketball game!! I can’t believe our team lost again. ” “You’re in New York right now too? I’m here until Saturday!”

For instance, you might say, “Oh, you follow Vicky? I’ve known her since we were like 5 lol. ” Or, “Whoa, small world! How do you know Jeremy?”

“Was your father an astronomer? Because I think he stole the stars from the sky and put them in your eyes. ” “Do you like raisins? How about a date?” “I was going to offer to draw you but you’re clearly already a work of art. ”

Can’t figure out what to send? Try searching for an ice breaker meme. You can find a silly picture with a cheesy pickup line on it to send to your potential boo. If you can’t find anything good, try searching “meme” on Instagram or Twitter. You should be able to find something totally random that makes you chuckle.

For instance, you might say, “I saw that you like to roller skate. How’s that going? I tried picking it up like a year ago, but I’m just not that good. ” Or, “Did you just move to the area? I’ve lived here for a while, so I could totally show you around sometime. ”

“I really liked talking to you. Here’s my number if you wanna chat again. ” “You’re really funny, and you seem super cool. I’d love to talk more; here’s my number. ”

If you two do have a nice conversation but they never hit you up again, that’s also a clue that they might not be interested. That’s totally fine, and you can move on to someone else.