“Aw thank you! The people around me must be wondering why I’m smiling so big at my phone. ” “Thanks! It makes me so happy you feel that way. ” “Thank you, that means a lot to me. ” “Aw thanks. That’s really sweet. ” “That’s really kind of you to say! Thank you!”

“Thank you! I really loved the song you played during your set. ” “Thanks. I like your eyes, too :)” “Wow, that’s really kind. I’m in awe of your soccer skills. ”

“Thanks! I learned from the best. ” “I so appreciate that. I’ll have to pass that onto my friends, too!” “Thank you! But Jodie and Donghyun were really the ones who made it happen. ”

“Thanks for taking the time to let me know!” “I really appreciate the feedback!” “The team worked hard on that. Thanks!”

“I dressed up just for you! 😘” “You always say the right things 😍🥺” “Thanks, you’re not so bad yourself 😏” “I didn’t catch that. Can you say it again? 😉😂” “Scale of 1-10, how much do you like it? 😏” Tease the person about an interest or something lighthearted about their background: “So polite! I’d expect nothing less from an English guy 🤣”

“You’re welcome!” “I’m gonna screenshot that and frame it. ” “Please say it a little louder for the people in the back. ” If someone compliments a specific feature or item, try: “Glad you like it. That’s the only thing I’ve got going for me. ” Or say, “Finally someone appreciates that. It’s a lot of work to be this cute. ” If someone calls you beautiful, handsome, funny, etc. send this: “My mom thinks so, too. ” Or try, “But I’m not as cool/cute as this” and pair it with a funny animal GIF. Send a GIF of a well-known TV or movie character shrugging or blushing.

If someone compliments your shoes, for example, say, “Oh thanks! I actually got them for Christmas. What’s the best gift you’ve gotten?” If someone compliments your appearance try something like this, “Aw thanks. I like my smile, too. What’s your favorite thing about yourself?” When someone compliments an action you took, try saying, “Lol I actually didn’t plan it that way. What did you like most about the event?" For a compliment about a piece of your outfit say something like, “Thanks! I spent a year looking through thrift stores for those. What’s your best buy?”

Take the compliment as genuine: “Oh, thanks!” Point out the insult. For instance, if they say, “You look so much better with dyed hair,” say “Ouch. I think I looked good before, too. But thanks!” Ask for clarification: “What do you mean by saying I’m ‘smart for a girl?’”

“Thanks! My girlfriend thinks I’m handsome, too. ” “Wow, that’s so sweet. I’m not looking for anything right now, though. ” “Thank you! I’m so glad we’re friends. ” “I’m flattered, but I’ve got a girlfriend” or “I’m flattered, but I’m not interested. ”

“Not gonna lie, that makes me super uncomfortable. Please don’t. ” “Hey, I’m not into that. Please don’t message me stuff like that. ” “Oof. I’m not cool with that. Please don’t contact me again. ”