You can also try breathing deeply or counting to 10 anytime you feel yourself getting stressed.

If you’re younger, try asking your parents to call a family meeting and invite all your siblings. If the problem is with your extended family, consider asking them to talk over video chat or on the phone.

Letting everyone talk can be tough, especially if they’re saying things that make you mad. However, if you let everyone else talk, they’ll hear what you have to say, too. [4] X Expert Source Jacob Christenson, PhD, LMFTLicensed Marriage and Family Therapist Expert Interview. 22 October 2021.

Have you ever seen someone roll their eyes while you were talking before? It can make you even more angry than you already were! Keep the peace by checking your body language throughout the conversation.

For example, you could say something like, “When you yell at me about not doing my chores but don’t yell at my sister, it makes me feel hurt. I feel like we aren’t getting the same treatment around the house, which is unfair. ”

For example, instead of saying, “You yell at me too much,” you could say, “When you yell at me, I feel afraid. ” Or, instead of saying, “You never listen to me,” you could say, “When you talk over me, it makes me feel like I don’t have a say in what the family does. ”

It can be tough not to take sides, especially if you actually think one person is in the right. If you’re an adult in the household, consider calling in an outside mediator, like a mental health professional.

For example, if you and your siblings fight over the bathroom in the morning, consider setting a bathroom schedule with allotted time limits. If you’re not directly involved in the fight, you might not be able to come up with a resolution, and that’s okay. Encourage your other family members to come up with something that everyone can be happy with. [12] X Expert Source Jacob Christenson, PhD, LMFTLicensed Marriage and Family Therapist Expert Interview. 22 October 2021.

If you’re a kid and you feel like you’re in danger, talk to a trusted adult, like a teacher or a guidance counselor. They can help you figure out what to do next.

You can also talk to a therapist one on one to come up with ways to work through family issues. This is a great option if your family is opposed to therapy or you don’t live in the same area as them.