Name how you feel and describe why you’re feeling that way: “I feel really disappointed that I haven’t gotten a job after so many final round interviews, because it makes me feel like I’m not good enough. ” Telling someone else how you feel can help you realize that other people have been through similar situations.

“I was afraid of auditioning for those bands, but I played a great solo, even if they didn’t pick me. ” “It took a lot of courage to ask that boy out. Not everyone would’ve tried that!”

A company may not have hired you because they decided not to fill the position, or maybe the role wouldn’t have been right for you. [4] X Research source Someone who canceled a date or flaked on an outing might have been overwhelmed in their personal or work life.

Change “I can’t get a girlfriend. No one wants to date me” into “I haven’t found the right match yet. ” Change “I never score a goal” to “I’ve made some good assists in the last games, and I’m working hard. ”

“I’d make a good boyfriend because I’m considerate, I cook fantastic spinach ravioli, I’m kind to others, I’m loyal, and I’m a good listener. ” “I’m a good employee because I’m a team player, I work hard at my job, I pay attention to my coworkers’ needs, I try to help others whenever I can, and I persevere through tough assignments. ”

“I have an incredible family and I got to present at the conference in Vegas. " “We spent three good years together, and I’m grateful for that time, even if it didn’t work out. "

Call a family member. Reach out to colleagues to grab a meal. Spend quality time with your children or loved ones.

Identify aspects of your life where you need a confidence or skill boost: “Are there areas where I need to improve?” Determine what knowledge or resources you need to do better next time: “What else do I need to learn to accomplish my goals?” Read books to get more information. [13] X Expert Source Lisa ShieldDating Coach Expert Interview. 11 March 2021.

If you were rejected from multiple jobs, take a step back from applying and try networking or learn a new skill. Schedule informational interviews with people in your industry to find out how they became successful. Take a relevant online course to add to your resume. If someone you were pursuing romantically turned you down, try switching up your approach to dating by trying out a dating app or asking a friend to set you up. Take advice from a dating coach. [15] X Expert Source Lisa ShieldDating Coach Expert Interview. 11 March 2021. Keep an open mind towards potential romantic partners and don’t be afraid to go on a few first dates with different people.

Ask yourself, “Is it worth it to me to continue pursuing this opportunity, even after being rejected?” Check in with yourself, “Should I change my expectations about this scenario or relationship?”