If he’s dealing with work stress, for example, say something like, “You’re so good at what you do. You’ve got this!” Maybe he’s really missing you. In that case, text him, “I haven’t been able to get you off of my mind all day. Thinking of you always. " Throw in some sweet emojis, like hearts and smiley faces to really get your love and support across virtually.

Caption the video with something like, “I thought this might cheer you up” or “I watch this anytime I’m having a bad day. "

If you don’t want to send a picture of your face, try a picture of your view instead. Send him a picture of the view from your apartment window with a personable caption like, “Wish you were here. Thinking of you!”

Text him, “I just remembered that time we rented the wrong movie from the video store. Remember that horrible CGI? I haven’t laughed that hard in months!” If you’re feeling bold, reminisce about your favorite moments of physical touch. Say something like, “I can’t wait to kiss you again. Remember the last night you were here?”

Text him something like, “I’m sorry you’re having a bad day. Want to talk about it on the phone when I get home?” If you’re on the phone already, say, “I just want you to know I’m always here. We can talk about this for as long as you would like!” Respect his space if he doesn’t want to talk about it. Maybe a distraction will be a better way to cheer up him in that case!

Try, “I could really use your spaghetti right now. You could’ve been a chef in another life!” Be a little flirty and say something like, “You’ve got the most gorgeous hair. You know that, right?”

When scheduling the video chat, say, “I miss your face. Want to FaceTime this evening?”

Try something like, “Want to forget our troubles and get some takeout? I think some shrimp scampi could really help. "

He may not be up for any big plans if he’s really upset. Try suggesting the option without any attachment. Say something like, “I totally understand if you’re not feeling up for it right now, but want to watch a movie together tonight?”

If you don’t have any concrete plans lined up, you can still talk about the next time you’ll see each other, or even start making a solid plan. This will really cheer him up!